News » Press Releases

Secretary LaHood to Testify at Hearing on High-Speed Rail Program

December 5, 2012

Washington, DC – U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood will testify at a House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee hearing on Thursday focusing on the mistakes and lessons of the Administration’s high-speed rail program.

Since the 2009 stimulus and the President’ stated goal of providing 80 percent of Americans with access to high-speed rail within 25 years, the Federal Railroad Administration’s (FRA) High-Speed and Intercity Passenger Rail (HSIPR) Program has been appropriated to total of $10.1 billion.

With nearly all available federal funding having been awarded and obligated, the FRA has shifted focus to project oversight. The Government Accountability Office (GAO), the DOT Office of Inspector General (DOT IG), and others have reported various concerns with the program in general and with specific projects, such as the California high-speed rail project.

Thursday’s hearing will examine FRA’s management of the program, the status of rail projects, and what needs to be done to improve the program. In addition to the Secretary, the DOT IG, the GAO, state transportation officials, and a representative of the freight railroads will also testify. For more information about the hearing, click here.

WHAT: Hearing of the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, U.S. Rep. John Mica (R-FL), Chairman
“An Update on the High Speed and Intercity Passenger Rail Program: Mistakes Made and Lessons Learned”

WHEN: 9:30 a.m., Thursday, December 6, 2012

WHERE: 2167 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
A live webcast of the hearing will be available here


[updated December 5, 2012]

Member Panel
• U.S. Rep. Kevin McCarthy (CA-22), House Majority Whip
• U.S. Rep. Janice Hahn (CA-36)

Panel I
• The Honorable Ray LaHood, Secretary, United States Department of Transportation

Panel II
• Mr. Mitchell Behm, Assistant Inspector General for Rail, Maritime and Economic Analysis, United States Department of Transportation
• Ms. Susan Fleming, Director, Physical Infrastructure, Government Accountability Office
• The Honorable Paula J. Hammond, P.E., Secretary of Transportation, Washington State; Chair, AASHTO HSIPR Leadership Group; Chair, States for Passenger Rail Coalition
• The Honorable Ann L. Schneider, Secretary of Transportation, State of Illinois
• Mr. Edward R. Hamberger, President & CEO, Association of American Railroads

# # #


Twitter   YouTube   Flickr   RSS